Presidential Council forms 7 military zones in Libya

  • Libyan Express |
  • Thursday 1 June 2017

The Presidential Council has issued a new law (31 for 2017) to form seven military zones in Libya.

The military zones are Tripoli, Tobruk, Benghazi, western region, central region, Kufra, and Sabha.

The military zones will be each commanded by a military commander and and an assistant commander under the general command of the Presidential Council as it is the Libyan Army’s Chief Commander.

According to the new law, the military zones will be responsible for security and stability in the country and will be reporting to the Presidential Council.

The Presidential Council is the Libyan Army’s Chief Commander as per the Libyan Political Agreement signed in Morocco’s Skhirat in December 2015.

Azara Media

Comments reflect the opinions of the visitor and not those of Libyan Express, its editorial board or staff.