Haftar issues travel ban on six Muslim countries in eastern Libya

The commander of the eastern forces of Operation Dignity under the Tobruk-based House of Representatives (HoR) Khalifa Haftar, issued on Monday a travel ban that disallows the nationals of six Muslim countries from entering the eastern districts and cities that his forces control in Libya.

The travel ban was slammed on the nationals of Iran, Syria, Sudan. Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Yemen.

According to the letter sent by Haftar to the Director of Passports Control at Labreg Airport, Michael Atiyah, in addition to those nationals, any foreigners who don’t have valid visas or residence permits would be also banned from entering eastern Libya.

In February, Haftar and his Operation Dignity officials issued a travel ban on Libyan nationals between the ages of 18 and 45 if they don’t obtain a prior security clearance from security and intelligence departments.

The views expressed in Op-Ed pieces are those of the author and do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Libyan Express.
How to submit an Op-Ed: Libyan Express accepts opinion articles on a wide range of topics. Submissions may be sent to oped@libyanexpress.com. Please include ‘Op-Ed’ in the subject line.
You might also like

Submit a Correction

For: Haftar issues travel ban on six Muslim countries in eastern Libya

Your suggestion have been successfully submitted

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Libyan Express will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.