Qatar-boycotting states place Libyan media agencies, TV channels on terror list

Logos of Alnabaa TV (left) and Tanasuh TV (right) {Photo: Internet}

Saudi Arabia, Egypt, UAE, and Bahrain, announced in a joint statement overnight placing new Libyan entities on the black list – the list of terrorist organisations funded by Qatar – as part of what they described their commitment to fighting terror.

The new list includes six Libyan entities – most of them media agencies and TV channels.

The list named Boshra News Agency, Saraya Media Center, Alnabaa TV, Tanasuh TV and its Dawa Organisation, Benghazi Shura Council, and Rafallah Al-Sahati Brigade.

The terror list also included the names of nationals of other countries including two Libyans, Ahmed Al-Hesnawi and Saadi Al-Nofalli.

The blacklist of terrorists and terror entities that was issued by the UAE, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and Egypt in June naming what they said the names and organisations funded for doing terror work by Qatar included four Libyan names and one entity.

The blacklist included Abdel Hakim Belhaj, the Chairman of Watan Political Party, Mohammed Al-Salabi, a popular cleric, Isamiel Mohammed Salabi, and Al-Sadiq Al-Gharyani, popular cleric and Libya’s Mufti.

The blacklist also named Benghazi Defence Brigades (BDB) as a terrorist entity funded by Qatar.

The views expressed in Op-Ed pieces are those of the author and do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Libyan Express.
How to submit an Op-Ed: Libyan Express accepts opinion articles on a wide range of topics. Submissions may be sent to Please include ‘Op-Ed’ in the subject line.
You might also like

Submit a Correction

For: Qatar-boycotting states place Libyan media agencies, TV channels on terror list

Your suggestion have been successfully submitted

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Libyan Express will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.